Skip to content

Predictions and an ode to playoff hockey

April 13, 2011

Since it’s all the rage, I’ll put forward my first round predictions. I don’t know if I should be expected to do a full bracket, but, I’m not going to. Here’s what I have.

Boston v. Montreal: Boston in five

Buffalo v. Philadelphia: Buffalo in six

Tampa Bay v. Pittsburgh: Pittsburgh in seven

New York v. Washington: Washington in six

Vancouver v. Chicago: Vancouver in six

Nashville v. Anaheim: Anaheim in six

Detroit v. Phoenix: Phoenix in seven

San Jose v. Los Angeles: San Jose in four

The best part of the playoffs and predicting or discussing match-ups is that all that matters is the games. These predictions, these discussions, they’re immediately immaterial once the puck drops. All that matters is what you’re watching on TV. Everything else can be set aside, and for those three periods, all that matters is right on the ice. Everything, rink issues, coaching problems, prior injuries, cap and contract conflicts, none of it matters.

It’s brilliant.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. landersm2 permalink
    April 13, 2011 18:44

    Interesting predictions man, a lot of these predictions, we seem to believe the same. Really the only one I have to say that is different is the Nashville/Anaheim series. Maybe you could check out my blog and let me know what you think.

    http://hockeybingo.wordpress.com/

  2. Sasha permalink*
    April 14, 2011 15:32

    Thanks. My biggest doubts come with the Nashville/Anaheim series. I think Nashville is finally ready to make it past the first round and Pekka Rinne wins out hands-down, but I also think Corey Perry isn’t one to be stopped at this point and the Ducks have had such great momentum. I also wonder about the Phoenix/Detroit series. I like the Coyotes because I think they’re more desperate at this point.

    I’ll definitely check your stuff out!

Leave a Reply

